After a red card was given in his side’s 1-0 victory over Espanyol, Barcelona coach Quique Setien maintains that he will not criticize Ansu Fati.
“He was ultimately really humble,” Setien said of Fati. “He came to meet with me, and he felt really guilty about what had happened.”
“He wasn’t provoked. He went in to win the ball. The obstacle seemed harder than it really was when I saw it. It’s one moment that could have been stopped. As he goes to win the ball I see he was attempting to fold back his leg so there would be no-touch, but the choice was taken.”
“He’ll be influenced by this and we’ll know what the punishment is so for the moment I don’t judge him.”