Manchester United defender Luke Shaw has given his views about the 0-0 first-half handball episode against Chelsea.
In consultation with the VAR, Chief referee Stuart Attwell decided not to award a penalty against the Londoners after the ball hit the hand of midfielder Callum Hudson-Odoi.
“I don’t know. I saw a hand play at that moment. I don’t know if it was Greenwood or Hudson-Odoi. I just kept playing, I didn’t even know there was a VAR check. I don’t know why the game was stopped. If they don’t think it was a penalty then I don’t know why the game was stopped,” said Shaw to BBC.
“I even heard the referee say to Maguire, “If I say it’s a penalty, it will cause a lot of talk later”. So I don’t know what happened there.”
“Maguire said the referees were told it was a penalty. VAR told them there was a penalty, so. I’m not sure, I don’t understand. We had the ball, we were attacking, so that VAR confused us.”
“If it wasn’t a penalty then the refs could have just let the game go on. I’m not going to whine about it, I don’t think either team did enough to win.”