ads banner
HomeEPL (English Premier League)Italy qualified for Euro 2020 quarter-finals as they broke their own record

Italy qualified for Euro 2020 quarter-finals as they broke their own record

sponsor banner
ads banner

Italy set a new national record on Saturday after defeating Austria in Euro Cup 2020. Italy’s team has won the 31st match in a row. Extra-time goals from Federico Chiesa and Matteo Pessina helped Italy win over Austria in the 16th match of the Euro Cup 2020 at Wembley Stadium on Saturday. As a result of this 2–1 win over Austria, Italy qualified for the quarter-finals and the team will now play their next match on 2nd July. 

Italy broke the 82-year record after the victory against Austria. Earlier, Italy, under Roberto Mancini’s captaincy, equaled the record with a 1–0 win over Wales, but Italy’s national record was broken after a win against Austria.

Vittorio Pozzo was Italy’s coach when the team played four years without a loss between October 1935 and July 1939. During that phase, Italy won its second consecutive World Cup and also won a gold medal at the 1936 Olympic Games. Italy has lost two matches since Mancini took over in May 2018 and the last defeat came against Portugal in a Nations League match in September of that year.

Talking about the Euro Cup 2020 season, two teams have qualified for the quarter-finals. Denmark defeated Wales to reach the quarter-finals, while Italy defeated Austria to reach the quarter-finals. The winning teams of two matches that were held on 27th June will also advance to the quarter-finals, while the losing teams will end the tournament.

Watch football highlights of Italy vs Austria.

Italy 2-1 Austria

Goals: 1 – 0 Chiesa 95, 2 – 0 Pessina 105, 2 – 1 Kalajdzic 114

Bookings: Di Lorezno, Barella; Arnautovic, Hinteregger, Dragovic

Italy: Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Acerbi, Bonucci, Spinazzola; Barella (Pessina 67), Jorginho, Verratti (Locatelli 67); Berardi (Chiesa 84), Immobile (Belotti 84), Insigne (Cristante 108)

Austria: Bachmann; Lainer (Trimmel 114), Hinteregger, Dragovic, Alaba; Grillitsch (Schaub 106); Laimer (Ilsanker 114), X Schlager (Gregoritsch 106), Sabitzer, Baumgartner (Schopf 89); Arnautovic (Kalajdzic 97)