Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

buaksib oppabet gambling website 2022

Football News

German coach of the Year 2021 – Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel

Germany’s leading football publication Kicker has voted Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel their Coach of the Year. Tuchel, who took over Chelsea last season, has been voted German coach of the year 2021. In his career at Chelsea, the German coach drove the team to the Champions League final.

Former Paris Saint-Germain coach replaced legend Frank Lampard in January at Stamford Bridge. The 47-year-old almost immediately won over the fanbase as he made the Blues one of the toughest sides in Europe to beat. 

Under the guidance of Tuchel, Chelsea became European Champions after 2012, defeating Premier League winner Manchester City in the UEFA Champions League. Last year when at the French club Thomas lost the trophy to Bayern Munich. 

According to an annual survey conducted by Kicker, Tuchel received 129 votes from German Sports Journalists (VDS), surpassing Bayern Munich’s Hans-Dieter Flick (118) and Borussia Dortmund’s Edin Terzic (75).

Speaking to Kicker about the German coach of the year award, Tuchel was humble and kind to dedicate his award to the team. “I accept the award very gratefully as a great honour for the entire team because I see myself as a team player,” he said. “Therefore, the personal award is a bit uncomfortable for me. Who wants to decide what is the greatest. Maybe Christian Streich [manager of Freiburg] or Bo Svensson [manager of Mainz] deserved the award. Maybe you could drive to Freiburg every year. Maybe you would have to drive to Heidenheim because the work there is outstanding.”

Tuchel, with 129 votes, beat last year’s winner Hansi Flick of Bayern Munich by 11 votes. Former Bayern manager and Champions League winner Jupp Heynckes also praised him. “Only with this dedication could he be so successful,’ said Heynckes. ‘There are ups and downs in the coaching profession, but in the end the pendulum always strikes on the side of the person who deserves it.”

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has won the German player of the year award for the second time in a row. He earned 356 votes leaving teammate Thomas Müller in the second position with 41 points.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like

Football News

In the return leg of the Europa League semi-final, clash Arsenal held a goalless draw against Villarreal. Unai Emery’s players will play in the...

Football News

Mark Clattenburg was always ‘box office’ as a referee in the Premier League and in Europe, but for the right reasons. Before hanging up...

Football News

According to a Russian outlet Championat report, veteran defender Branislav Ivanovic is West Brom’s target to sign him on a free transfer. Slaven Bilic...

Football News

Cristiano Ronaldo, one of the best strikers in the world, will no longer be seen playing for Serie A as he departs from Juventus....