ads banner
HomeEPL (English Premier League)Borussia Dortmund won German Cup title defeating RB Leipzig

Borussia Dortmund won German Cup title defeating RB Leipzig

sponsor banner
ads banner

Borussia Dortmund lifted the trophy of DFB Pokal Champions 2021. Two goals scored by Erling Haaland and Jadon Sancho helped Borussia Dortmund beat RB Leipzig 4–1 to win the German Cup title. Sancho scored the first goal of the match for Dortmund in the fifth minute, playing his first match in almost three weeks after recovering from a hamstring injury. However, in the 28th minute, Haaland scored the second goal making the score 2–0, and then Sancho scored 3–0 before the intermission of the injury time.

Dani Olmo opened Leipzig’s account in the 71st minute, but Haaland scored in the 87th minute to ensure Dortmund’s big win. Captain Marco Reus assisted all four goals, helping Dortmund win the title for the fifth time. He did not allow Leipzig’s first title hopes to be met. Dortmund has won this title for the fifth time. Playing under the supervision of coach Edin Terzic, this young team has won a title for the first time since 2017. The Black Yellow team acquired the DFB Pokal Championship 2021.

This was Julian Nagelsmann’s last opportunity to win the title for RB Leipzig before he moves to a new club to continue his coaching career. Nagelsmann will transfer to Bayern Munich, where he replaced Hansi Flick who will move to the German National team to take over Joachim Low. The 33-year-old coach will start work afresh at the Bundesliga club Bayern Munich – last year’s Champions League title holder. This was Leipzig’s eighth defeat against Dortmund. German club Borussia Dortmund had previously won titles in 1965, 1989, 2012, and 2017.

RB Leipzig – Borussia Dortmund 1-4 (0-3)

Goals: Jadon Sancho (5, 45), Erling Haaland (28, 87),Dani Olmo (71) 

Yellow cards: Upamecano – Bellingham, Can, Dahoud, Sancho, Hummels

Referee: Felix Brych

RB Leipzig: Gulacsi – Klostermann, Upamecano, Halstenberg – Kampl (62. Forsberg) – Mukiele (62. Laimer), Olmo, Haidara (70. Henrichs), Sabitzer – Sorloth (46. Poulsen), Hee-Chan Hwang (46. Nkunu).

Borussia: Burki – Piszczek, Akanji, Hummels, Guerreiro – Bellingham (46. Hazard), Can – Reus, Dahoud (74. Delaney), Sancho (89. Meunier) – Haaland (90+1. Reyna).

Rupal Purohit
Rupal Purohithttps://beyond100yards.com/
Writing about football is one of my favorite things to do. As a football writer, I love the rush of being in the stadium on game day and watching all the action live. It's like no other feeling for me. I'm passionate about writing about it, but until recently I've been doing it as a hobby rather than a profession.