ads banner
HomeOther StoriesAlexia Putellas won the Women's Ballon d'Or 2022

Alexia Putellas won the Women’s Ballon d’Or 2022

sponsor banner
ads banner

For the second year in a row, the Barcelona captain has been named the best female player in the world. At the 2022 Ballon d’Or awards, the Barcelona midfielder was named the best female player in the world. After defeating Beth Mead of Arsenal and Sam Kerr of Chelsea, Alexia Putellas becomes the first player to win the Women’s Ballon d’Or in back-to-back seasons.

In 2021–22, Alexia had again another outstanding campaign, this time helping Barcelona advance to their second consecutive Champions League final and taking home both the league and cup. In addition to scoring 11 goals in 10 Champions League games for Barcelona, the captain also had a stunning 18 goals and 15 assists in 26 league games.

This would not have been feasible without my staff, she claimed. The Barca captain is still out after rupturing her anterior cruciate ligaments and having surgery in July. I want to thank the staff, the coach, and everyone else involved. After the surgery, Barcelona stated that Alexia is anticipated to miss between 10 and 12 months.

Beth Mead of England finished second, while Sam Kerr of Chelsea took third after leading the Lionesses to win at the European Championships.

Rankings for Women Awards:

1st – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)
2nd – Beth Mead (Arsenal and England)
3rd – Sam Kerr (Chelsea and Australia)
4th – Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg and Germany)
5th – Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona and Spain)
6th – Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg and Germany)
7th – Ada Hegerberg (Lyon and Norway)
8th – Wendie Renard (Lyon and France)
9th – Catarina Macario (Lyon and USA)
10th – Lucy Bronze (Man City – now Barcelona and England)
11th – Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal and Netherlands)
12th – Christiane Endler (Lyon and Chile)
13th – Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride, San Diego Wave, and the USA)
14th – Selma Bacha (Lyon and France)
15th – Millie Bright (Chelsea and England)
16th – Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG and France)
17th – Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona and Nigeria)
18th – Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit and the USA)
19th – Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona and Sweden)
20th – Kadidiatou Diani (PSG and France)

For more information and statistics, keep watching this space.

Salman Shaikh
Salman Shaikhhttps://beyond100yards.com/
You can find me in the newspaper, on TV and radio, and online. I love writing about football news and sharing it with others.